Covid-19 notice: Online orders will continue to be processed as usual at Alert Levels 2 and 3

Announcing the winners of the Poetry NZ Yearbook Student Poetry Competition 2020


Poetry NZ Yearbook Student Poetry Competition Winners

Tracey Slaughter announces the winners of the Poetry New Zealand Yearbook Student Poetry Competition 2020.

The winners are:

Year 13

First prize: Pippi Jean, ‘Class of 2020’ and 11.11pm’ 

Second prize: Georgia Wearing, ‘Bury the Lamb’ 

Third prize: Catherine Bullock, ‘Orthotropics’ 

Highly commended: Alia Wentz, ‘In between’, and Lily Joyce, ‘How Long will my heart bleed’

Year 12

First prize: Cadence Chung, ‘Hey Girls’ 

Second prize: Theles Hakaria, ‘Tōku Whare’ 

Third prize: Cadence Chung, ‘We Lovers’ 

Highly commended: Lucy Barge, ‘Scratchy Shuffles’, and Holly Willis, ‘Heaters’

Year 11

First prize: Darcy Monteath, ‘World War Two’

Second prize: Praniti Gulyani, ‘What it takes to be a Window’ 

Third prize: Luke Aldridge, ‘Tiki Tour’, and Moeka Koyama, ‘Character of Music’ 

Highly commended: Sarah-Kate Simons, ‘Scar Tissue’, and Fergus McMullan, ‘Uniform’