Entries are open to the Poetry Aotearoa Yearbook Student Poetry Competition 2024



Entries are now open for the Poetry Aotearoa Yearbook student poetry competition, the award that has sent so many young poets on their way. Entries will be judged by Yearbook editor Tracey Slaughter and the winning poems from each year group will be published in the 2025 edition of the Yearbook.

There is a monetary prize for the first, second and third prize winners of each year group, thanks to the University of Waikato: $500 (first place), $300 (second place) and $100 (third place). Each winning poet and their school will also receive a copy of the book.

To enter: Please send us up to three previously unpublished original poems. Entries close 5 July 2024.
The winners will be announced on Phantom Billstickers National Poetry Day, 23 August 2024.

  • Poems should be supplied in either Word or PDF format and can be of any length, any style and about any subject
  • When you enter please indicate whether you are a Year 11, Year 12, or Year 13 student at a New Zealand school and please name your school
  • Four prizes in each age-group category will be given: first, second, third and highly commended
  • Successful entrants must agree to their names and schools appearing in media and publicity for the award, and for their poems to appear online.

Please send your entries to editorial@masseypress.ac.nz.